What mocha pot taught me about life

Ece Çelik
2 min readOct 24, 2022

--

I bought my first mocha pot at the beginning of 2020, and I think it has an inspiring story to be told.

Photo by KWON JUNHO from Unsplash

I was in an apartment with friends and getting ready for the big celebration for the upcoming year ‘2020’. It was around 7 PM, and I needed caffeine to stay awake the whole night. Suddenly, a friend brought out the mocha pot, a shiny metal coffee maker with two layers.

Before that, I knew about the existence of the mocha pot, but it was my first time experiencing how to prepare coffee with it. So, my friend put the water to the bottom layer and added the ground coffee in between. He left the top part empty, closed it, and placed it on the stove. Meanwhile, we had a lovely conversation while waiting for the coffee to be ready.

Here is the physics behind the mocha pot (on a surface level); the water in the bottom boils and reaches the top layer that goes through the ground coffee. It is possible to imagine the coffee layer as a limit to climb over. The thing is that what happens looks the same all the time, except the moment boiling starts. That moment changes everything, also our perception. What happens is not the start of boiling but the process of water being warmer and warmer every second.

That reminds me of working on building a habit for some time. You don’t see the actual result or, I might say, anything solid until the boiling starts. Therefore, focusing on the process rather than the result is something we should start doing if not started yet. If you look at it from the mocha pot perspective, the result will always be there as the water is heated. It will always be awesome.

When the night was over, I ordered my mocha pot. It arrived in three days and taught me even more things about life. One is that I should be more patient for good things to happen. Secondly, I should also be aware that they don’t happen while sitting down and waiting for them. Like the mocha pot, the water should always be in heating.

At that time, I was looking for my first job. Within four months, I have built new skills like patience and determination. Now, in two months, it will be 2023. I have changed to my 3rd job this year. Finally, I have my dream job. For the coming year, I have already worked on some plans for building new habits and achieving new goals. I believe the secret of success here will not be focusing only on accomplishing these goals but enjoying getting close to achieving them and concentrating on the process. Working regularly with patience and determination will be the key to a better year.

--

--